How far does $10 (NT300) go in Taiwan?

Spending $10 at a clothing store

Spending $10 (NT 300) at a clothing store in Houying, Taiwan gave me a lot of options.

One of my favorite reasons for living in Taiwan is the relatively low cost of living. I am raising three children with my wife, and I would estimate that the cost of living in Taiwan was about 40% of what it cost to live in Florida. When CNN challenged its iReporters worldwide to show how far they could stretch $10 over the weekend, I took on the challenge, so I could share with people how affordable life in Taiwan is.

A clothing store in Houying in Tainan County, Taiwan

A clothing store in Houying in Tainan County, Taiwan

I needed to buy socks for my son and myself, so today, I went to a clothing store in Houying Village in Tainan County, Taiwan. Twelve new pairs of white cotton socks were NT$100 (US $3.16), so I bought twelve pairs for him, and twelve pairs for me. While I was there, I noticed that new polyester ties were on sale for NT$10 each (US $0.32). A man can never have too many ties, so I bought ten for NT$100 (US $3.16).

Cotton socks were NT 100 (US $2.96) for 12 pairs.

Cotton socks were NT 100 (US $3.16) for 12 pairs.

Polyester ties were on sale for NT 10 ($0.32) each.

Polyester ties were on sale for NT 10 ($0.32) each.

I spent a total of NT$300 (US $9.50) for 24 new pairs of socks and ten new ties. I now I would have spent much more than that in the USA, even at Wal-Mart. I have included photos of the merchandise and their pricing.

I happily paid the NT 300 at the checkout.

I happily paid the NT 300 at the checkout.

Click for the article on CNN iReport.

One response to “How far does $10 (NT300) go in Taiwan?

  1. That’s it. I’m moving to Taiwan.

    Well…maybe not. 😉

Leave a Reply

