Kudos for Healthcare in Taiwan

I struggle to write this blog, as my head is pounding, my eyes are bloodshot, and my body aches everywhere. I just gave up my dinner to the toilet a few minutes ago, so the nausea is gone. I am compelled to take time to acknowledge the Healthcare system in Taiwan.

Two days ago, I came down with a serious fever and headache. I was worried I had something contagious. But by the next day, my fever was gone. I slept for 16 hours to accomplish that. I realized that I had symptoms of a bladder infection, as I had one last year in Florida.

I took today off work and went to the local health department. I saw the Western-medicine doctor, took a urine test, received a shot of medicine, and received a prescription for pills. I paid for the doctor visit, the urine test, the shot and the pills. What did it cost? US $11. Yeah, even I was surprised. I do not have national healthcare yet, so I paid full price for everything. US $11. Once I get healthcare for my family next month, I will pay a fraction of that. Oh, when I got the bill for the bladder infection in Florida last year, it was over US $600.

This post may be relevant to what is going on in the USA, because the Obama administration is trying hard to pass a national healthcare system. He is facing much resistance. Ask yourself, who is putting up the biggest fight? Healthcare companies, drug companies, politicians they donated to? The bottom line is “Money.” There are companies, executives, doctors, investors, etc who aren’t willing to give up the healthcare pot of gold. They provide all type of reasons why nationalized healthcare won’t work. Those with extreme views resort to scare tactics, out of fear.

I invite people to check out the healthcare system in Taiwan to try to understand why it is working here. I think they will find there are a different set of priorities here. I invite anyone who is disenfranchised to live in Taiwan and experience what life is like with affordable healthcare.

6 responses to “Kudos for Healthcare in Taiwan

  1. Tony, glad to hear you’re feeling better. Man, I am dealing with this exact problem. While I do have health insurance (Avmed), I’m still waiting for pre-approval for my ct scans (have a painful swelling under my chin). And if for whatever reason they don’t approve it, that’s $600-$700 out of my pocket… RIDICULOUS!! So while I mope around the house, unable to think straight because of the side effects of the antibiotics, I can at least say that I am definitely pro-health care reform. Say hi to the family for me. 😉

  2. I’m glad that your personal experience with Healthcare in Taiwan was positive.

    Does the Healthcare that you received reflect the same for everyone in Taiwan?

    I would like to see Healthcare reformed here in the United States but do not want our Government to be in charge of it. Parts of our healthcare is flawed in the United States and those are the parts that need to be fixed.

    Our Government has no business being in charge of our healthcare. They can’t even get the parts that they are in charge of correct. Our Government-ran programs have problems right now.

    Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, Healthcare for our Military and their Dependents, Healthcare for our Combat Veterans, Healthcare for our Veterans that have served our Country…. the list goes on.

    I would like it if you would take a look at two posts that I wrote and offer up your comments and ponder whether or not you think our Government should control our healthcare.

    Dr. John Batter from Canada spoke at our rally against Socialized Medicine

    Here’s a letter to Senator Bayh about the Healthcare Bill

    The other aspect of this is I am not in favor of Big Government. I do not want the Government sticking it’s grubby little fingers in our financial institutions, our industries, OR our healthcare. If they want to work on something they need to work on the parts that they are involved in that are broken and stop all this spending they are doing. I am suspecting that the spending will go beyond the 9 Trillion that has been projected and we are only 8 months into this President’s 4 year term. How much more can this nation withstand?

    • Yes, my experience is what everyone pays, except almost everyone has national health insurance, and pays much less for what I paid. It is a nice feeling of security to have this and such an educated medical community throughout Taiwan.

      I want people to know that nationalized healthcare works very well in other parts of the world and perhaps they should look into why that is so. They should also try to understand why drug prices are 100x higher in the US than in other countries. They should try to understand why healthcare services are so much more expensive than in other parts of the world. Of course, it is hard to manage systems that are so skewed to begin with. Believe me, some of the drugs I used in the US for symptoms never worked, but some of them here in Taiwan made the symptoms disappear in short time. I am happy to have the healthcare we have here in Taiwan, and I hope one day citizens of the USA can have the same experience. It just feels great, especially when you have a family.

  3. Hey Tony,
    Thanks a lot for this post! Now maybe people won’t think I’m crazy when I tell them about Taiwan’s health system. When my daughter was born my family was extremely well taken care of. We even got special classes in the hospital about every detail on raising infants. The most expensive part of my daughter’s birth was the parking fee!

  4. I’m glad that the healthcare system in Taiwan works so well for so many people.

    Unfortunately our Govt has no business running such a system and the way the language of the current bill being debated here in the United States goes… I do not want Govt-ran healthcare.

    It’s great to see that you are doing well, happy and thriving in Taiwan!

  5. The biggest problem with Healthcare reform in the USA is that people here are unable to think for themselves. They buy into the partisan politicians who pull their strings with fear, uncertainty, and doubt – all while being bankrolled by the corrupt insurance and pharmaceutical industries.

    A few days ago, we received a 12×20 full color direct mail (printed on card stock) attacking healthcare reform. It characterized the current system as something people are pleased with.
    Having done some direct mail advertising myself, my jaw dropped. This was a massive mailing to thousands and thousands of people and given the material used, it had to cost MILLIONS of dollars just to print – not including postage for such a large piece. I can’t believe that people don’t see that and wonder “why is someone spending so much money and where is it coming from?” The answer is, pharmaceutical and insurance companies. They are riding a multi-trillion dollar gravy train and will lie, cheat, and steal, to keep it going.

    America spends 16% of the GDP on health care. 95% of that expense is shouldered by the middle class. That is not just wrong, it is evil.

    The Republican party (which I was affiliated with for many years) uses conservative ideology to stir the masses to their cause. Hot button topics like abortion serve to rally people to them, even though they have no intention of doing anything about the issues they use as “bait.” The truth is, United Healthcare Ins. co., spent $16m last year on lobbyists….and that is just ONE company. The politicians are on the gravy train and they don’t want to get off of it either.

    “Big government” as it pertains to healthcare reform is a farce. It is already there, only it is sucking the money out of your wallet and fighting for the status quo. All reform is designed to do, is to help people keep the money in their pockets. 85% of bankruptcies are caused by medical expenses, and 45% of those are people who have insurance – because most insurance policies are overpriced and inadequate.

    Right now in America, you pay more for health care than you do for income tax, yet still have massive out of pocket costs where healthcare is concerned.

    I have a plan for fixing health care.

    Here it is:

    (1) Lower the salaries of all congressmen and women to what Walmart (the USA’s largest employer) pays the average associate.

    (2) Offer the congressmen and women the same 80/20 PPO insurance costing 25% of their pay, just like Walmart employees have.

    If that happened, they would fix healthcare in a week.

Leave a Reply

