Tony and Shu-min’s first Taiwanese date

Riding the motor scooter into Tainan City for our date night.

Riding the motor scooter into Tainan City for our date night.

Tonight was a night to remember! My wife and I had our first night out away from the kids to spend time with our new friends in Tainan City. I threw on a dress short and some long pants, and hopped on the back of a motor scooter, and Shu-min whisked us away towards the city.

I always enjoy the times we go into the city. It is a very colorful and vibrant place, teeming with activity. Tainan is a city of about 800,000 people, the 4th largest city in Taiwan. Many of the buildings are tall, and the signs in Mandarin Chinese are numerous. However, in the larger cities, Americans will find recognizable signs like 7-11, McDonalds, Burger King, Starbucks, and Kentucky Fried Chicken. These days, one can even find a Cold Stone Creamery and TGI Fridays.

Meeting our friend Mike (left) at his school, Keystone.

Meeting our friend Mike (left) at his school, Keystone.

After an exhilarating 50-minute ride, we arrived at the Keystone English School to meet the owners, Mike and Dolma. They took us by car to the nearby American cafe, Candy’s. We enjoyed over 2 hours of great conversation getting to know each other. I learned some much needed information about living in Taiwan from my fellow American friend.

 

We enjoyed American cuisine at Candy's restaurant in Tainan.

We enjoyed American cuisine at Candy's restaurant in Tainan.

 

The food was memorable. After eating Taiwanese food every day for over a month (which I love), American food was most welcome once again. Shu-min had a pasta dish with fruit tea. I had a salad with dressing and garlic bread for starters. My main dish was pork chops (American style) with rice and gravy. I chased my food down with a nice, cold Budweiser beer. I shared and savored the 24 ounces that came in the extra large bottle. There were some nice selections for dessert, but I chose chocolate chip cookies. Oh yes, we had some popcorn to much on, while we enjoyed our lengthy conversation.

At times, I basked in the warm feeling of feeling at home again. I did not feel like I was in Taiwan for the two hours in the restaurant. I thanked the owner, Candy, for her hospitality and promised to return. She was a Taiwanese lady who lived in Columbus, Ohio at one time. We said goodbyes to our new friends and scooted quickly home through the city streets. As good as it felt to have the night to ourselves, we looked forward to returning home to the hugs of our little boys.

 

Enjoying a Bud with his new buds.

Enjoying a Bud with his new buds.

One response to “Tony and Shu-min’s first Taiwanese date

  1. Looks like you are having a wonderful time Tony!

Leave a Reply

